It was a first Bridgeport win of the season for Spirit Auto Centers Big Block feature winner Dave Hunt and TJ Henry who picked up the win in the first of twin twelve lap features for the PennCo Tech Outlaw Stocks while  CJ Jones captured his third win of season in the Steward Stainless Crate/Sportsman feature and Jeramy Doerr won the second twelve lap Outlaw Stock feature event for his fourth win of the season. 

     Scott Ambruster led the first three laps until Dave Hunt drove his Furino & Sons General Contracting No. 27 into the lead on lap four of the twenty-five lap Spirit Auto Center Big Block Modified feature event and then proceeded to drive away from the field to capture his first win this season.  Several times after taking the lead, Hunt had to restart with 2013 Bridgeport Champion, Ryan Watt to his outside but each time, Hunt was able to drive away from the competition.  Watt was the first to congratulate Hunt in Victory Lane followed by third place finisher, Ryan Anderson. 

     Hunt and his team had just installed the Kenny Capraun engine into the No.27 after picking the engine up in the wee hours of Friday morning.  It was worth the effort as Hunt led the way to the checkered flag followed by Watt, Anderson, 2012 Bridgeport Champion, Rick Laubach and Jamie Mills. 

     It was a similar story for CJ Jones who was forced to replace the engine in his Sal DeBruno owned No. 0 car after last week’s feature event.  Jones led that event until a punctured oil pan cost him an engine as well as a win.  This week, Jones returned with a Friesen Chevrolet Crate Engine under the hood and drove to victory.

     Jeff Bubori led the first six circuits before current point leader, Jim Britt took the lead on lap seven.  Britt passed Jones in traffic and led through lap fifteen.  Jones closed in on the leader and took the lead on lap sixteen.  Jones took the win over Britt, Pete Visconti, Gary Hieber, Jr. and Pat Wall. 

     The PennCo Tech Outlaw Stocks competed in Twin Twelve lap feature events with TJ Henry taking the win in the first event.  Joe Meron led the first lap before Jeramy Doerr took over on lap two.  There was plenty of side by side racing as the laps counted down.  Doerr spun in turn four with just three laps remaining.  Henry took the lead and raced to the checkered after twelve laps followed by Tom Wills, Sr., Jeff Dirkes, Jack Beaumont and Jimmy Avery.

     In the second twelve lap event, Doerr was not to be denied.  His biggest challenge came from Jeff Dirkes, driving a second Doerr entry.  Dirkes raced side by side with Doerr for several laps before Doerr pulled away.  Doerr picked up the win followed by Dirkes, Tom Wills, Jr., Terry Griffth and Joe Meron.

     Action returns to the quarter mile track this Friday night as the Hilborn TSRS Sprint Cars join the 270 & 600cc Micro Sprints and 4 Cylinder Enduros with racing getting underway at 8pm.  Action switches to the 5/8 mile track on Saturday for First Responders Night at the Bridgeport Speedway.  The Big Block Modifeds and Outlaw Stocks will compete in a regular show while the Crate/Sportsman division races in Twin Fiftleen lap feature events.  Race time on Saturday is 7pm.


1. Dave Hunt, 2. Ryan Watt, 3. Ryan Anderson, 4. Rick Laubach, 5. Jamie Mills, 6. Wade Hendrickson, 7. Richie Pratt, Jr. 8. Jack Swain, 9. Kyle Hieber, 10. Howard O’Neal, 11. Jesse Hill, 12. Bob Sarkisian, 13. Jimmy Chester, 14. Tommy Beamer, 15. Dominick Buffalino, 16. Scott Irwin, 17. Ricky DiEva, 18. Ron Roberts, 19. Travis Hill, 20. Scott Ambruster, 21. Mike Franz, 22. Dave Shirk, 23. Jordan Watson


1. CJ Jones, 2. Jim Britt, 3. Pete Visconti, 4. Gary Hieber, Jr. 5. Pat Wall, 6. Jeff Bubori, 7. Billy Osmun, 8. Steve Kemery, 9. Matthew Peck, 10. Jeremy Harrington, 11. Kevin Belmont, 12. David Crossman, 13. Pete Serra, 14. Melissa Scarpatti, 15. Scott Hulmes, 16. Ernie Miles, III, 17. Steve Desmelyk, 18. Chuck Potts


1. TJ Henry, 2. Tom Wills, Sr., 3. Jeff Dirkes, 4. Jack Beaumont, 5. Jimmy Avery, 6. Joe Meron, 7. Jeramy Doerr, 8. David Kramer, 9. Mike Vanimen, 10. Art Avery, 11. James Rader, 12. Brian Ludwig, 13. Fred Tomarchio, 14. Tom Wills, Jr. 15. Draper Ellis, 16. Cleve Riehl, 17. Pete Ellis, 18. Mick Search, 19. Terry Griffen, 20. Jim Neely


1. Jeramy Doerr, 2. Jeff Dirkes, 3. Tom Wills, Jr., 4. Terry Griffen, 5. Joe Meron, 6. David Kramer, 7. Cleve Riehl, 8. Art Avery, 9. Mike Vanimen, 10. Draper Ellis, 11. Tom Wills, Sr., 12. Jack Beaumont, 13. Mick Search, 14. TJ Henry, 15. Jimmy Avery

Upcoming Events

Friday, August 7,2015 – TSRS Sprints cars join 270 & 600 Micros and 4 Cylinders – Racing at 8pm

Saturday, August 8, 2015 – First Responders Night – Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman in Twin 15s and Outlaw Stocks – racing at 7pm

Friday, August 14, 2015 – 270 & 600cc Micros, 8 Cylinders and Slingshots – Racing at 8pm

Saturday, August 15, 2015 – Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks & Powder Puff races -racing at 7pm

Tuesday,August 18, 2015 – Friends of Mike – Race of Champions – Hand #4 of the Poker Series – Big Block Modifieds, in 60 lap main event and 25 lap Bill Hill Memorial for Crate/Sportsman – racing at 7:30