Wall & Wills, Jr. Add to Win Totals


Just one week after winning the fourth Bridgeport Speedway Big Block Modified feature of his career, David Hunt made a very strong statement as he picked up his second win of the season, coming from mid-pack to pick up the win in the Spirit Auto Center twenty-five lap feature event on First Responders Night at the Bridgeport Speedway.  CJ Jones was also a back-to-back feature winner with his win in the first of two fifteen lap features for the Stewart Stainless Crate/Sportsman.  Pat Wall added another win in the second fifteen lap event while Tom Wills, Jr. earned his second PennCo Tech Outlaw Stock feature win as he raced ahead of the competition to take the checkered flag.


In dramatic fashion, Hunt tracked down race leader, Richie Pratt, Jr. and took the lead with a move to the inside of turn three, taking the lead as he led the field to the two to go sign.  Ian Humphreys took the lead at the start.  The 2013 Bridgeport Rookie Champion, led the first four laps before Pratt raced into the lead from his ninth place start.  Pratt set a torrid pace and had started to pull away from the field when Hunt reached second just one lap later.  On several occasions, Hunt was able to close the gap on Pratt and even take a run at the leader but each time, Pratt prevailed.  Hunt had his hands full with a hard charging Tommy Beamer who took over second just after the half way mark but was forced to pit for a tire change with just ten laps to go.


Hunt led Pratt to the finish line followed by current point leader, Rick Laubach, Beamer, who rebounded to finish fourth and Jamie Mills who rounded out the top five.


CJ Jones captured the first fifteen lap feature event for the Crate/Sportsman competitors, taking the lead from Pat Wall with just four laps to go.  Steve Davis charged to a second place finish followed by Wall in third.  Pete Visconti and Bob Lineman, Jr. rounded out the top five.


The top nine finishers were inverted for the start of the second fifteen lap feature.  Chris Jenkins led the first six laps but the leader spun between turns one and two on lap seven.  Steve Kemery led the field to the restart but Wall had the lead by the time the field crossed the start/finish line the next time around.  Wall appeared to be his way to the win but a late race charge saw Davis go to the top of the track and take the lead as the field came to the white flag.  Davis led the way to the checkered followed by Wall, Jones, Gary Hieber, Jr. and current point leader, Jim Britt.  Wall was awarded the win when Davis’ No. 13 failed post race tech.


Tom Wills, Jr. raced his dad to the checkered flag to claim his second PennCo Tech Outlaw Stock feature of the season.  There were plenty of challengers in the closing laps of the fifteen lap main event but Wills, Jr. prevailed with Wills, Sr. finishing second.  Terry Griffen, who led the way for most the race, finished third with Jeramy Doerr and jack Beaumont rounding out the top five.


The 1,000th event will be celebrated during the Friends of Mike event on Tuesday, August 18th along with the Bill Hill Memorial for the Crate/Sportsman competitiors.  Many former track champions will be returning to celebrate this milestone at the Bridgeport Speedway on Tuesday night.




1. David Hunt, 2. Richie Pratt, Jr., 3. Rick Laubach, 4. Tommy Beamer, 5. Jamie Mills, 6. Dominick Buffalino, 7. Jordan Watson, 8. Mike Franz, 9. Scott Irwin, 10. Travis Hill, 11. Howard O’Neal, 12. Willie Osmun, 13. Rusty Smith, 14. Ian Humphreys, 15. Jimmy Chester, 16. Ron Roberts, 17. Wade Hendrickson, 18. Matt Hawkins, 19. Ricky DiEva, 20. Jesse Hill, 21. Bob Sarkisian, 22. Ryan Forte

1. CJ Jones, 2. Steve Davis, 3. Pat Wall, 4. Pete Visconti, 5. Bob Lineman, Jr. 6. Steve Kemery, 7. Gary Hieber, 8. Brandon Watkins, 9. Billy Osmun, 10. Jason Bittner, 11. Scott Hulmes, 12. Jim Britt, 13. David Crossman, 14. Matthew Peck, 15. Melissa Scarpatti, 16. Steve Desmelyk, 17. Chuck Potts, 18. Matt Davis, 19. Chris Jenkins, 20. Dave Damiano, 21. Pete Serra, 22. Scott Hitchens, 23. Tom Holding, 24. Dave Banko

1. Pat Wall, 2. CJ Jones, 3. Gary Hieber, 4. Jim Britt, 5. Pete Visconti, 6. Billy Osmun, 7. Jason Bittner, 8. Bob Lineman, Jr. 9. Steve Kemery, 10. Scott Hitchens, 11. Steve Desmelyk, 12. Scott Hulmes, 13. Dave Damiano, 14. Chuck Potts, 15. Matthew Peck, 16. Melissa Scarpatti, 17. Dave Banko, 18. Matt Davis, 19. Brandon Watkins, 20. David Crossman, 21. Ernie Miles, III, 22. Pete Serra, 23. Steve Davis



  1. Tom Wills, Jr., 2. Tom Wills, Sr., 3. Terry Griffin, 4. Jeramy Doerr, 5. Jack Beaumont, 6. Art Avery, 7. Fred Tomarchio, 8. Jimmy Avery, 9,. Mike Creamer, 10. Brian Ludwig, 11. Ken Moren, 12. James Rader, 13. Draper Ellis, 14. Mike Vanimen, 15. Doug DeBray, 16. Rick Broschard


Upcoming Events

Friday, August 14, 2015 – 270 & 600cc Micros, 8 Cylinders and Slingshots – Racing at 8pm

Saturday, August 15, 2015 – Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks & Powder Puff races -racing at 7pm

Tuesday,August 18, 2015 – Friends of Mike – Race of Champions – Hand #4 of the Poker Series – Big Block Modifieds, in 60 lap main event and 25 lap Bill Hill Memorial for Crate/Sportsman – racing at 7:15