Bridgeport, NJ – The temperatures felt like August but that was nothing compared to the hot action on the high banks of the Bridgeport Motorsports Park on Saturday night with racing sponsored by Ice Less.

Defending Bridgeport Champion, Ryan Godown raced to his third point contest of the season but this win came after a battle for the lead with Neal Williams and Sal DeBruno’s No. 0.

Polesitter, Roger Manning led the field to the green and then grabbed the lead for the first nine laps of the Danny’s Pizza Pizzazz Modified feature event. Dominick Buffalino quickly raced into second but was forced to pit for a tire change during a lap seven caution.

A lap seven incident saw the cars of Carson Wright and Joseph Watson getting together between turns one and two and with nowhere to go, Mike Franz rolled his No. 2. Watson and Franz were headed to the pits, their race ended with nine complete.

Williams grabbed the lead on the restart and led Godown, Billy Pauch Jr., Manning and Tommy Beamer. Pauch grabbed the runner-up spot on the next lap.

The yellow waved again as Ron Roberts and Matt Stangle got together on the backstretch, collecting Ryan Watt. Watt continued but without most of the right side bodywork on the No. 14w.

Williams led the way to the crossed flags ahead of Godown, Pauch, Manning and Watt.

Godown had the lead on lap sixteen with Williams and Pauch battling for second. Pauch took the spot but Williams came right back. Pauch had the runner-up position when lap twenty was scored.

Godown led the rest of the way to take the win over Pauch and Williams. Beamer had a strong outing in the Thornton No. 31 to finish fourth with Buffalino rebounding from his early race issue to finish fifth. Richie Pratt Jr. finished sixth followed by Ryan Krachun, Matt Stangle, Manning and Sam Martz Sr.

F&L Door heat races were won by Godown, Roberts and Watt with Clay Butler winning the consolation.

Bryan Brobst, in just his second full season of competition, picked up the win in the Precision Hydraulic & Oil 602 Sportsman feature event. Brian Papiez held the lead over Brobst and Matt Ellery with seventeen laps scored when the race leader was involved with a spun car under the caution. Papiez sustained significant front end damage and was sidelined for the remaining laps.

Brobst took the win over current point leader, Ryan Godown, Jr;, Ellery, Sammy Martz, Jr. and Greg Reed. Travis Hill finished sixth in the Cogdill No. 98 followed by Howie Finch, Stephen Yankowski, David Jenkins and Nick DeSantis.

It was a very popular outcome in the Bridgeport Motorsports Park Street Stocks as Nick Sandone raced to the first win of his career, beating Lee Allen to the stripe to grab the checkered flag.

Hoffman Speed Supplies heat races were won by Wayne Weaver, Travis Hill, Matt Ellery and Ryan Godown, Jr. with Nick DeSantis picking up the win in the B Main.

Nick Sandone brought a legion of fans along with him when he started this journey with the Bridgeport Street Stocks and they have been there to support their driver each and every week. In addition to preparing the car for Saturday night competition after the mid-week event, Sandone was also faced with a medical situation. None of that came to mind as Sandone celebrated in Weaknecht Archery Victory Lane on Saturday with all of his friends, family and crew.

After leading every lap of the Ice Less sponsored feature, Sandone was able to fend off the challenges of Lee Allen to take the win. Mike Hughes finished third followed by Jeff Dirkes and Ken Moren. Sandone acknowledged the Street Stock division as a close knit group who offered their help and assistance to him in whatever way it was needed.

Tim Jones picked up the win in the fifteen lap Cassidy Painting 4 Cylinder Feature event for his first Bridgeport victory. in what was a very competitive race for this division. Chris Carroll finished second followed by Justin Dunn, Joe Garey, Jr. and Jonathan Pitcher.

Pitcher took the win in the Scrappy’s Auto Service qualifier.

Thomas Prychka was the winner of the first DA’s Auto Body & Repair Rookie feature by leading just one lap – the most important lap – the final one. Vince Malcolm led the first six laps but a flat tire and contact with the back stretch wall on the final circuit took him out of contention. Second generation driver, Dan Hulmes finished second followed by Malcolm, Mike Baldwin and Deana Cogdill. This is a very promising group of Rookies for the class of 2022.

The Bridgeport Motorsports Park will be the scene of the Monster Truck Throwdown this coming weekend. Shows are scheduled for 7pm on Saturday and 2pm on Sunday. Tickets are available online. Racing action returns to the Spirit Auto Center quarter mile and the high banks of the Bridgeport Speedway the following weekend.

DANNY’S PIZZA PIZZAZ MODIFIED FEATURE (30 laps): 1. Ryan Godown, 2. Billy Pauch Jr., 3. Neal Williams, 4. Dominick Buffalino, 5. Tommy Beamer, 6. Richie Pratt Jr., 7. Ryan Krachun, 8. Matt Stangle, 9. Roger Manning, 10. Sam Martz Sr., 11. Clay Butler, 12. Jordan Watson, 13. Jim Gallagher Jr., 14. Ryan Watt, 15. Daniel Morgiewicz, 16. Mark Vanvorst, 17. Ron Roberts, 18. Brett Kelly, 19. Tom Moore Jr., 20. Matt Peck, 21. Carson Wright, 22. Joseph Watson, 23. Mike Franz, 24. Davey Sammons, DNQ – Matt Smith, Mike Barone, Billy Lasko, Brad Roberts, Ron Myers

PRECISION HYDRAULIC & OIL 602 SPORTSMAN FEATURE (25 laps): 1. Bryan Brobst, 2. Ryan Godown Jr., 3. Matt Ellery, 4. Sammy Martz Jr., 5. Greg Reed, 6. Travis Hill, 7. Howie Finch, 8. Stephen Yankowski, 9. David Jenkins, 10. Nick DeSantis, 11. Thomas Prychka, 12. Brian Rogers, 13. Jim Avery, 14. Ryan McKinney, 15. Pete Serra, 16. Billy Chester, 17. Jim Dallett, 18. Bryce Higgs, 19. Aaron Weaver, 20. Brian Papiez, 21. Will Protinick, 22. Brandon Shipley, 23. Ethan Young, 24. Wayne Weaver, 25. Ethan Bill, 26. Sean Metz, DNQ – Shane Kassekert, Dan Hulmes, Danielle Cook, Haley Cook, Ashley Therien, John Scarpati, Mike Baldwin, Erik Mattson, Vincent Malcom, John Larson

BRIDGEPORT MOTORSPORTS PARK STREET STOCKS FEATURE:(15 laps): 1. Nick Sandone III, 2. Lee Allen, 3. Mike Hughes, 4. Jeff Dirkes, 5. Ken Moren, 6. Jeramy Doerr

FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE (12 laps): 1. Tim Jones, 2. Chris Carroll, 3. Justin Dunn, 4. Joe Garey Jr., 5. Jonathan Pitcher, 6. Ed Ford, 7. Bobby Johnson, 8. Joe Garey Sr., 9. Issac Elsner, DNS – Chris Gall, Scott Dunn

DA’S AUTO BODY & REPAIR ROOKIES (7 LAPS)1. Thomas Prychka, 2. Dan Hulmes, 3. Vince Malcolm, 4. Mike Baldwin, 5. Deana Cogdill, 6. Danielle Cook, 7. Ashley Therien, 8. John Larsen, 9. Haley Cook