Mother Nature was the winner in the final points contests at the Bridgeport Speedway last weekend.  When heavy rain preempted what was to be the final night of the 2015 Championships, the Bridgeport Speedway announced their track champions on the 5/8th mile speedway.
points mills

      With two feature wins this season, Jamie Mills captured his second Bridgeport Speedway track title in the Spirit Auto Center Big Block Modifieds.  Mills’ first championship came in 1995.  The driver from the first state of Delaware started off the 2015 season with plans to pick and choose his races with absolutely no plans of pursuing a track championship.  But as the season wore on and point leader, Rick Laubach suffered through some mechanical issues, Mills found himself on the top of the chart.  Mills held a 24 point lead ove11221921_1211278325556359_6278568817051893203_or Laubach to clinch the title. 

     Richie Pratt, Jr. finished third behind Mills and Laubach with Dave Hunt and Tommy Beamer rounding out the top five.  Jesse Hill, Ryan Watt, Wade Hendrickson, Sam Martz and Ron Roberts finished sixth through tenth in points.

     While Mills clinched the title, it was Laubach who claimed the most wins with five.  Ryan Watt won three times during the season.  Dave Hunt and Wade Hendrickson each won two main events while Sam Martz had one feature win. 

     In his first full season of competition at the Bridgeport Speedway, Pat Wall picked up the championship for the Stewart Stainless Crate/Sportsman competitors.  Wall earned four feature wins on his way to the championship – a title he won by just a five point advantage over second place driver, Jim Britt.  Britt led all competitors with five feature wins.  CJ Jones finished third in  points with four wins.  2points wall 2015 Rookie Champion, Steve Kemery and Gary Hieber, Jr. were the fourth and fifth place drivers in points – each with one feature win during the  season. 

     Matthew Peck, Jeremy Harrington, David Crossman, Scott Hulmes and Melissa Scarpati finished sixth through tenth with Harrington also a one time feature winner. 

     The PennCo Tech Outlaw Stocks made it a family affair when it came time to decide the 2015 Champion with Tom Wills, Sr. winning the title by a dozen points over Tom Wills, Jr.  Both father and son collected three wins a piece during the season with third place, Jeramy Doerr winning seven times on the 5/8th mile track.  Wills, Sr.  – a former Street Stock Champion at Bridgeport in the mid-90s – found the new track surface to his liking and frequently used the outside line, reminiscent of his driving style in seasons past,  

 points wills

     Two time winner, Brian Ludwig and 2014 Champion, Jim Avery finished fourth and fifth in the title chase.  James Rader, Joe Meron, Ken Moren, one time winner, Jeff Dirkes and Art Avery rounded out the top ten in the standings. 

     The championships have been decided but there is still plenty of racing left before the final checkered flag waves on the 2015 season.

Upcoming Events 

Friday-Sunday, October 23-25 – Bill Thomas Memorial Weekend on the Quarter Mile

Friday, October 30 – Bonus Hard for the Poker Series on 5/8th Mile – Big Block Modifieds, Crate Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks & Powder Puff

Saturday, October 31 – Romp in the Swamp – Open Mods on Quarter Mile – $10,000 to win plus 600 Mods

Friday, November 13 – Wildcard Weekend – 358 Small Block Mods, TSRS Sprints, Outlaw Stocks plus practice for other divisions

Saturday, November 14 – Gone But Not Forgotten Final Poker Series Hand – Big Blocks, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks & Garden State Vintage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *