Bridgeport, NJ – Tim Fuller raced to the front of the stellar field of Big Block Modifieds to capture the victory in the Super DIRTcar show at the Bridgeport Motorsports Park and become the new reigning King of the Big Blocks. In the five year history of the event, only Bridgeport Champion, Ryan Watt has been a repeat winner, winning back to back victories in 2018 and 2019.

The number thirteen was not an unlucky number for Fuller who raced from the thirteenth starting spot and into the lead on lap fifty-eight of the one hundred lap contest. It was Fuller’s first win since the 2018 season but not his first Bridgeport victory. Fuller won on the 5/8th mile track on opening day in 2003. “I had won on the old track,” Fuller stated, “I really needed this one!”

The Watertown, NY driver prefers the longer distance races. “I like the longer distance races,” Fuller explained. The races that require a driver to make good judgement calls on how aggressive to be an any given point in the race. “It takes a good bit of patience,” Fuller added.

Jimmy Phelps and Larry Wight made up the front row of the starting line-up and led the field to the wave of the green flag. Phelps immediately jumped into the lead as Wight, Dominick Buffalino and Mike Maresca raced three-wide for second. Buffalino won the battle and set sail after Phelps.

Ryan Godown brought out the first caution he bounced through turn one in need of a new Hoosier. Contact between Buffalino and Maresca while racing for second had both drivers heading to the hot pit for new rubber.
Fuller raced his way into the top ten quickly and then ran in the top five by the lap fifteen green flag.

Phelps led Max McLaughlin, Peter Britten, Fuller and Demetrios Drellos at the quarter century mark. Phelps led through lap thirty-four when McLaughlin powered into the lead with the Sweetner’s No. 32. It was McLaughlin’s first attempt on the Bridgeport high banks and he declared after the race that the he ranks the New Jersey speedplant as one of his top five favorite tracks.

McLaughlin ran away from the field, putting more and more distance between himself and second place Phelps. Peter Britten and Fuller took their wheel-to-wheel battle by Phelps to run second and third and the half way mark.

Just a few laps later, Fuller settled the battle with Britten to take second and then turned his attention to McLaughlin. By lap fifty-seven, Fuller was on the leader’s back bumper and took the lead on the next trip around the track.

Fuller raced away from the field – even while racing through heavy lapped traffic late in the race.

2020 King of the Big Blocks winner, Stewart Friesen raced by Phelps and then chased down Britten. Friesen wheeled the Halimar No. 44 by Britten and into third with just ten laps to go. With five to go, Friesen took over second but had little time to chase down Fuller.

Fuller took the $10,000 win over Friesen, McLaughlin, Britten and Phelps. Alex Yankowski, a regular on Bridgeport’s high banks finished sixth to be the first area driver to the finish line. Mike Maresca finished seventh after making an early race pit stop. Matt Shepperd, Jack Lehner and Tim Sears, Jr. rounded out the top ten.

The USAC All Pro SpeedSTRS were also on the card for the Tuesday night event. Defending Bridgeport Track Champion, Billy Pauch wheeled the Rodota Trucking No. R7 to a flag-to- flag victory in the twenty lap main event. Briggs Danner finished second after throwing everything he had at the leader. Tim Buckwalter finished third followed by Tom Mayberry and Jason Musser.

SUPER DIRTCAR SERIES BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS: (100 laps) 1. Tim Fuller, 2. Stewart Friesen, 3. Max McLaughlin, 4. Peter Britten, 5. Jimmy Phelps, 6. Alex Yankowski, 7. Mike Maresca, 8. Matt Sheppard, 9. Jack Lehner, 10. Tim Sears Jr., 11. Mat Williamson, 12. Mike Mahaney,, 13. Larry Wight, 14. Tyler Dippel, 15. Duane Howard, 16. Chris Hile, 17. Dominick Buffalino, 18. Jordan Mcreadie, 19. Ryan Watt, 20. Billy Decker, 21. Kevin Root, 22. Sam Martz, 23. Brandon Walters, 24. Jim Britt, 25. Marcus Dinkins, 26. Ryan Godown, 27. Demetrios Drellos, 28. Erick Rudolph, 29. Joseph Watson

USAC ALL-PRO SPEEDSTRS: (20 laps) 1. Billy Pauch, 2. Briggs Danner, 3. Tim Buckwalter, 4. Tom Mayberry, 5. Jason Musser, 6. Jay Hartman, 7. Jeff Hartman, 8. Jeff Cot, 9. Dillon Steuer, 10. Tim Iulg, 11. Kenny Meisner, 12. Nick Havens 13. Ryan Godown Jr. 14. TJ Mayberry 15. Nick Pecko

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *