Bridgeport, NJ – Night one of the 2nd Annual Danny Serrano 100 weekend is on the books and it’s safe to say that the night’s namesake would have been well pleased! This weekend’s events are sponsored by John Blewett Scrap & Recycling and K&A Excavating.

There were more than forty 602 Crate Sportsman signed in for the Underdog 20 event that Doug Rose split the field into two Underdog 20 races. First year competitor, Matt Ellery raced to the win in the first twenty lap event with a hard charging Ian Humphreys pushing him to the finish. Eric Kormann was an emotional winner in the second twenty lap event, dedicating the win to his late brother, Michael who passed away earlier this year.

Lee Allen raced to the win in the Bridgeport Motorsports Park Street Stock feature that was the final warm-up to the upcoming Street Stock Nationals on October 8th and 9th.

Kevin Nagy continued his winning ways and collected the 2021 Delaware Auto Exchange Mid Atlantic Sprint Series Championship all in one in the final race of the season for the MASS competitors.

Matt Ellery has been in the midst of the action in every feature event this year for the South Jersey Overhead Door 602 Sportsman. The first year driver has come close on several occasions but finally raced to the checkered flag for the win in the first Underdog 20. Ellery ran the mid to high line around the track to pick up the win but Ian Humphrey found a way to run the bottom and not sacrifice his momentum as he ran in second and closed in on the leader in the final laps.

“I was just trying to take it easy there at the end,” Ellery explained following his win. Humphreys finished second after his late race challenge. Billy Chester represented his Wiked Motorsports team well with a solid third place finish over Cody Manmiller and Joseph Brown.

Eric Kormann raced to the win in the second Underdog 20, sharing Victory Lane with the Hoffman family, the owners of the beautitul No. 10 that Kormann piloted. Ryan Stangle ran a great race to finish second with Ryan Simmons picking off the competition one by one to finish third. John Stevenson raced to a fourth place finish over Nick VanWickle.

Lee Allen picked up the win in the Street Stock fifteen lap main after successfully dealing with a mechanical issue just before the start. Racing dads, Tom Wills and Nick Sandone along with Ricky Wenger assisted Allen and got him out on the track for the start. From there, it was Allen all the way to the checkered.

Four-time feature winner, Jeff Dirkes kept it interesting right until the checkered flag to finish second. Chris Murray crossed the finish line in third but was disqualified after failing post-race tech. Brian Ludwig finished third, followed by Nick Sandone III who got to celebrate his birthday with a top five finish. Gary Klimeczak rounded out the top five at the finish.

Kevin Nagy won his ninth race of the season and his sixth at Bridgeport in the twenty-five lap MASS sprint car feature. Eddie Wagner battled Rory Janney for the lead at the start. Nagy made it a three car battle for the lead and raced ahead of Wagner on lap three.

Wagner raced the bottom of the track to keep Nagy within striking distance but Nagy prevailed for the win. Dave Grube raced by Wagner to take second with less than three laps to go. Buddy Schweibinz charged through the top ten in the final ten laps to finish third over Wagner and Tim Tanner.

Jordan Watson, Tyler Dipple and Dilon Steuer locked into the three twenty lap qualifying races for the Modifieds when they set fast time in the three timed sessions for the Foley Cat Modifieds on Friday night. Saturday action will feature the three Modified twenty lap qualifiers paying $1500 to the winners. Precision Hydraulic and oil sponsors the Cash Dash with a $600 payday to the winner. There will be a full show of USAC East Coast Wingless Sprints and USAC All Pro SpeedSTRS plus practice sessions for the 602 Sportsman.


Friday, September 24, 2021

UNDERDOG 20 – 1 (20 laps)

  1. Matt Ellery, 2. Ian Humphreys, 3. Billy Chester, 4. Joseph Brown, 5. Cody Manmiller, 6. Daniel Morgiewicz, 7. Trent Willey, 8. Nick DeSantis, 9. Jon Meyer, 10. John Scarpati, 11. Frank Holmes, 12. John Aumick, 13. Jim Avery, 14. Brett Ballard, 15. Erik Mattson, 16. Ethan Young, 17. James Hill, 18. Joey Vaccaro, 19. Pete Serra, DNS – Darren Cox, Sara Napora

UNDERDOG 20 – 2 (20 laps)

  1. Eric Kormann, 2. Ryan Stangle, 3. Ryan Simmons, 4. John Stevenson, 5. Nick VanWickle, 6. Sean Metz, 7. Howie Finch, 8. Scott Hulmes, 9. Chad Sandt, 10. Aaron Weaver, 11. Tommy Klimkowski, 12. Brian Rogers, 13. Greg Nailor, 14. Tad Cox, 15. Josh Bricker, 16. Ethan Bill, 17. Brad Roberts, 18. Zach Steffey, 19. Wayne Weaver, 20. Will Protinick, DNS – Jim Dallett


  1. Lee Allen, 2. Jeff Dirkes, 3. Brian Ludwig, 4. Nick Sandone, III, 5. Gary Klimeczak, 6. John Parker, 7. Tom Landwher, 8. Mike Baldwin, 9. Dennis Seeley, 10. Tom Wills, Jr., 11. Bill Liedtka, 12. Tom Princiotta, 13. Kyle Saylor, 14. Jeramy Doerr, 15. Rich Stinson, Jr., DNS – Daniel Harrison, Vern McLaughlin, Doug DeBray, DQ – Chris Murray

MASS 305 SPRINTS (25 laps)

  1. Kevin Nagy, 2. Dave Grube, 3. Buddy Schweibinz, 4. Eddie Wagner, 5. Tim Tanner, Jr., 6. Tom Carberry, 7. Mark Bittner, 8. Joe Kay, 9. Scott Frack, 10. Aiden Borden, 11. Mike Melair, 12. Josh Bricker, 13. Dale Eggert, 14. Bryant Davis, 15. Darren Cox, 16. Dom Melair, 17. Rory Janney, 18. Rick Stief, 19. Rich Janney, 20. Cory Connell, 21. Cody West, 22. Dave Brown, 23. Jon Brennfleck, 24. Jeff Geiges, DNQ – Keith Anderson, Justin Nowlen, Matthew Swift, Michael Keen, Torrey Rose

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *